Explore four reports from the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records of Ireland along with a report on Franciscan manuscripts. The reports contain details of records held by Irish archives and in particular at the four Courts before its destruction.
The publications in this collection are official reports created between 1873 and 1906.
You can read the following titles:
Report On Franciscan Manuscripts Preserved at the Convent, Merchant's Quay, Dublin, 1906
The Eleventh Report of the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records in Ireland
The Fifth Report of the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records of Ireland
The Sixteenth Report of the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records of Ireland
The Sixth Report of the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records of Ireland
The reports by the Deputy Keeper of the Public Records are concerned with the transfer and classification of various records. These reports are a valuable source because they were created before the destruction of the Four Courts.
The report on the Franciscan manuscripts details the manuscripts that survived from the establishment of the Irish Franciscan College of St Isadore in Rome. In 1872 the manuscripts were transferred from Rome to Dublin. The manuscripts present many fascinating accounts of the tumultuous events both in Ireland and Europe during the religious strife of the 1640s.